Township Logo Edwardsville Township

One of Illinois' Oldest Townships...Began 1808


Edwardsville Township Building


Edwardsville Township is comprised of the City of Edwardsville, Village of Glen Carbon and unincorporated areas just outside of these two municipalities. The township is located within Madison County in southwestern Illinois.


For more information on Edwardsville Township, see the Information Center Page


Edwardsville Township Logo Design Contest
Edwardsville Township is looking for students, clubs, or organizations to develop a logo as part of our rebranding effort.  The winning logo will best represent the functions of Edwardsville Township government, the residents of Edwardsville Township, and the geographic area served by the Township.  The winning logo will be selected by a panel of three local design professionals.  A $500.00 cash prize will be awarded to the creator of the winning design.  The deadline to submit artwork is Friday, May 2, 2014 at 4:30 p.m.  

Download the Application Packet here.

Edwardsville Township Hosts Concealed Carry Workshop
Edwardsville Township Supervisor Frank Miles hosted a Concealed Carry Implementation Workshop for Local Government in Edwardsville on February 27. Several elected officials and staff from area municipalities in Madison and St. Clair counties attended educational presentations and participated in an open forum question and answer period during the three-hour event.

Download the handout Concealed Carry and Local Government: What You Need to Know for more information about implementing the administration requirments of the Concealed Carry Law.

Low Income Energy Assistance Program Applications Now Available
Applications accepted by appointment only Tuesday through Thursday.
Call 656-0292 for more information or make an appointment.


Edwardsville Township Office
Township Supervisor
Township Clerk
Township Assessor
300 West Park Street, Edwardsville, Illinois 62025

Office Hours
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday
Township Supervisor's Office offers extended hours Tuesday through Thursday until 6:00 p.m. by appointment.

Township Supervisor – 618-656-0292
Township Assessor – 618-656-6305
Township Highway Commissioner – 618-288-9331

Hays Mallory Community Building
216 Crane St., Edwardsville, Illinois 62025
Contact the Township Office for Rental Information


History of Township Government
courtesy of Don L. Hastings Jr., Edwardsville

Township government was established in Providence, Rhode Island in 1636. Of all the forms of governments within America, this particular government is the oldest, providing continuous service. A hallmark of township government is the Annual Town Meeting held in April. Citizens gather, discuss issues, propose actions and vote to make decisions. This grassroots form of government had been closest to the people; and it might be regarded as having been among the most democratic.

Edwardsville Township originally was the federal "Township 4 North of the base line Range 8 West of the 3rdPrincipal Meridian". The lines dividing this township were surveyed in 1808, the subdivision lines were surveyed later, in 1813 and 1814, and the township was platted in 1815. In the present county, this survey process was stopped and held up by Native American warfare before, during and after the War of 1812. In 1802, the territory of Indiana (our county's territory) created the political township. The act provided for an annual April election for a Township Clerk and for other positions. In 1807, another act authorized a county's creation of townships. Townships could be of any size and did not have to conform to geographic ones. The "Township of Goshen" may have been created on or after 1807 and before 1812; as initial settlement did not occur until 1800 and after.

In 1813, the county of Madison appointed "overseers of the poor", one for each of four townships that were established, including Goshen. These appointments might be among the county's first township-level services. In 1820, state legislation made the federal geographic townships the "body politic for school purposes"—this appears to be the first political role for the geographic townships. In 1827, pursuant to the act, the county was divided into seven election districts. These new subdivisions may have replaced the former county townships. One was called the "Edwardsville district", which might be the first time this name was used for county subdivision purposes. In 1849 and continuing through 1875, the county was divided into sixteen "precincts", one being "Edwardsville", the largest. In addition to the thirty-six sections of the base township, this precinct contained about another sixty sections, perhaps ninety-six sections altogether. The geographic townships became county political townships.


Inclement Weather Closings

Edwardsville Township offices may be closed or may close early due to inclement weather.

Residents may check the following radio/TV outlets for closing information: NEWS; FOX 2 KTVI NEWS 11; KMOV-TV, CHANNEL 4 NEWS.

Residents can also call the Township Office at 656-0292.